News center
Leaders highlights
Culture & art
your position :anhuinews > english > Entertainment  content
Peruvian Film Wins Golden Bear
2009-02-16 08:32 CRIENGLISH.com

Producer Antonio Chavarrias ,actress Maria del Pilar Guerrero, director Claudia Llosa, actress Magaly Solier and producer Jose Maria Morales (L-R) pose with the Golden Bear award for Best Film during a news conference after the awards ceremony at the 59th Berlinale International Film Festival in Berlin February 14, 2009. [Photo: Xinhua/Reuters]

Peruvian film "La Teta Asustada (The Milk Of Sorrow)" directed by Claudia Llosa Saturday evening won the Golden Bear for the Best Motion Picture at the 59th International Film Festival Berlin (Berlinale).

Festival president Dieter Kosslick and jury president Tilda Swinton handed the Golden Bear to the producing team including the director Claudia Llosa and some other leading members.

The film tells a story about a girl named Fausta who suffers from the scared breast, a strange illness that is transmitted by mothers who have been raped or mistreated during their pregnancy or nursing period. The children of these women are irremediably infected by their milk and inherit a terrible atavistic fear. When Fausta was pushed into an extreme tension, her illness will cause hemorrhages or bleeding.

"La Teta Asustada" was one of the 18 films that compete for the Golden and Silver Bears in the competition section of the film festival. The "Forever Enthralled," directed by Chinese director Chen Kaige, was also in this section.

Besides the Golden Bear, Silver Bears were given in the name of the jury grand prix, best director, best actor, best actress and outstanding artistic contribution.

Films "Alle Anderen (Everyone else)" by Maren Ade and "Gigante" by Adrin Biniez won the Silver Bears for the jury grand prix.

Iranian director Asghar Farhadi won Silver Bear for best director, for the film "Darbareye Elly (About Elly)," Sotigui Kouyate in the film "London River" from Burkina Faso won the best actor and Birgit Minichmayr from Germany in the film "Alle Anderen (Everyone else) won the best actress."

Silver Bears for the outstanding artistic contribution including two prizes on sound-design and best script separately. They were won separately by Gbor Erdly and Tams Szkely for the film "Katalin Varga" and Oren Moverman and Alessandro Camon for the film "The Messenger." The jury also gave the Alfred Bauer Prize to two films and two directors that evening, one is "Gigante " by Adrin Biniez, and the other is "Tatarak (Sweet Rush)" by Andrzej Wajda.

Berlinale is one of the world's leading film festivals with up to 400 films shown every year in Berlin, Germany. Founded in 1951, the festival has been celebrated annually in February since 1978. This year's Berlinale was held from Feb. 5 to Feb. 15



about us
Copyright © 2000-2007 anhuinews.com. All rights reserved.